Skip to content

Found My Inspiration

August 17, 2011

Future Me?

I’m actually one of those people who are easily inspired. But this time its different, those two people who I have found are inspiring me to continue in the path of the career I want which is an aerospace engineer. Thats going to be my first step to becoming an astronaut. Now the names Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin may come to mind but I’m happy to say they’re not the two I’m talking about, as a matter of fact they’re not even astronauts!

I’m honored to say that those two females, yes females, are Middle Easterners! To be exact theyre Saudi Arabian and they go by Machael el-Shamemre and Dr. Haytt Sindi!

In the past few months I have been researching the requirements to become an astronaut and I stumbled upon a webpage talking about those two inspirations. Machael el-Shamemre was the first Saudi nay she was the first Arab women to join NASA after graduating from Floridas Institute of Technology. She states “I will do my best in order to show the world that the Saudi Arabian woman is capable of doing a great job in different fields of work for her strong will and her ambition. I want the girls of my country to know that nothing can stand in front of their success as long as they want to prove themselves within their traditions and their religion”. I’m really eager to know how she feels about working there and how its been for her but unfortunately that was the only piece of information I have found.

While I’ve been busy googling (not a stalker) Machael I came across Dr. Haytt Sindi. Who is she you may ask? She is a Cambridge graduate. She invented a Sensor sound used in medical observations. Frankly, I don’t know what her invention is all about but the thing that really caught my attention was that she was offered a job in NASA! But she had declined the offer because she believed that her inventions will be used for war purposes.

There you have it, I am inspired! Both worked hard to be where they are now and I hope I’ll be able to achieve what they did which is showing the world that gender and nationality aren’t related to success.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

