Skip to content

Review: The Smurfs

September 3, 2011

Im not really a fan of movie reviews but I figured Id give it a shot. Its just that I don’t like ruining the movie for others, so if you’re one of those people who enjoy watching movies out of the blue without knowing the story behind them(Im one of those people) don’t read this!

I loved it! I went to the movie not knowing who the smurfs are I just knew they existed. I never watched anything related to them and never read anything related to them. I just know they’re little blue creatures however that was before the movie of course. After watching the movie I gotta say they’re simply adorable, if only they were real I would like to have one or two around. If I was given the choice to take one home Id without a doubt pick clumsy. I love that guy!

Okay so back to the review. I sat in my chair waiting for the movie to begin not knowing what to expect. I was quite tired as well due to my amazing sleeping pattern (Being sarcastic of course). And the movie began, It started off with the smurfs in their village and all and also introduced the Gargamel the evil wizard. I started thinking what exactly is this movie going to be about but then it was no longer a cartoon! Those little blue guys and smurfette along with them transported to New York where they met Neil Patrick Harris, haha I gotta admit that was pretty cool. I didn’t see who was staring in it since I thought only their voices are going to be used but I guess I was wrong.

Another thing I loved behind the movie was the message it was sending or maybe its just the message I got. Either way what I understood is that you have to live in the moment and don’t push your loved ones away on the other hand treasure every moment you have with them and enjoy it. Also that life doesn’t come with a manual you just have to live and learn. In my eyes that was the main message I’m not sure if it was intended but I guess this message fits the movie so it works.

Basically the story is about Patrick, a man trying his best to complete a task assigned by his harsh boss in two days so he won’t get fired. However he doesn’t think he has enough time with him taking care of his pregnant wife and on top of all that out of all the people in New York the smurfs chose him and so he was stuck with them. The movie shows how Papa Smurf inspired Patrick and taught him a life long lesson while the other little ones showed him what he has to deal with when the baby arrives. Of course all these events happened as a result of running away from Gargamel. The story has a happy ending so they did in fact escape safely and returned to their village and started reconstructing it after getting ideas from New Yorks skyline.

One of my favorite scenes was when the smurfs and Patrick were playing guitar hero haha you can catch a glimpse of it in the trailer below.

3D? Big No No! I really didn’t see the point of making this movie in 3D, I believe there was only one part that was worth it and it was when they were sucked into a wormhole. Other than that the glasses were just a burden.

Oh and one last thing you’re gonna hear the word “smurf” over a hundred times! haha! I loved how they kept using it! Twas Smurftastic!

Watch the trailer below…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 6:00 am

    Me too. I don’t like watching movies while wearing glasses

    but yup as you said the movie was worth watching. For me it brings back childhood memories I was not a fan of the cartoon but I’m a fan now 😀

  2. Özila permalink
    September 17, 2011 1:06 am

    hey I went to the movie with B n T. T n I thought clumsy was just… YOU. The movie was gr8 some parts of it was for kids (just saying), and I took off my glasses, kinda the whole movie was 2D !
    (it’s my first comment idk why I’m scared)

    • September 23, 2011 8:03 am

      LOL! Ill take that as a compliment! I loved the movie, but yea I did the same thing with the glasses! Hahah Ozila not gonna bite you jaikay!

Leave a Reply

